Intranet Campus web


Cutting-edge science for health

Laboratory of Cellular Neurophysiology

Laboratory of Cellular Neurophysiology Examples of different types of electrophysiological recording used to study ion channel function.

Research of the Laboratory of Cellular Neurophysiology focuses on the function and pharmacology of ionotropic receptors (ligand-activated ion channels), specifically ionotropic glutamate receptors (iGluRs) and transient receptor potential (TRP) channels.  iGluRs mediate the majority of excitatory signaling in the central nervous system, are essential for normal brain development and function, and their dysfunction leads to serious neurological and psychiatric disorders, including many forms of neurodegeneration.  TRP channels are present in both the peripheral and the central nervous system, and they play a fundamental role in the detection and transmission of painful stimuli and participate in signaling associated with chronic inflammation.

The goal of our research is to better characterize the relationship between ionotropic receptor structure and function, to identify molecular mechanisms of ionotropic receptor modulation by different chemical compounds or physical variables, and to describe the consequences of mutations of human ionotropic receptors for the function of synapses, neurons and neuronal networks.  Obtained results deepen our basic understanding of the mechanisms of ionotropic receptor function, and inform the development of novel receptor modulators with therapeutic potential in the treatment of neurodevelopmental and neurodegenerative disorders.

History of the Laboratory    History of the Laboratory II


Alumni List


Glutamate receptors research

Glutamate is the main excitatory neurotransmitter in the central nervous system. It activates specific membrane proteins known as glutamate receptors. Our studies focus on ionotropic glutamate receptors, which, when activated, allow ions to flow across the cell membrane.     More

TRP channels research

We investigate molecular mechanisms of nociception and thermosensation by focusing on transient receptor potential (TRP) ion channels. These channels are specifically expressed in primary nociceptive neurones and work in concert to detect potentially damaging stimuli and transduce them into pain signalling.   More


Vyklický; Vojtěch - Stanley; Ch. - Habrian; Ch. - Isacoff; E. Y. Conformational rearrangement of the NMDA receptor amino-terminal domain during activation and allosteric modulation . Nature Communications. 2021; 12(1)); 2694 . IF = 14.919 [ASEP] [ doi ]
Sinica; Viktor - Vlachová; Viktorie . Transient receptor potential ankyrin 1 channel: an evolutionarily tuned thermosensor . Physiological Research. 2021; 70(3); 363-381 . IF = 1.881 [ASEP] [ doi ]
Nadezhdin; K. D. - Neuberger; A. - Trofimov; Yu. A. - Krylov; N. A. - Sinica; Viktor - Kupko; N. - Vlachová; Viktorie - Zakharian; E. - Efremov; R. G. - Sobolevsky; A. I. Structural mechanism of heat-induced opening of a temperature-sensitive TRP channel . Nature Structural & Molecular Biology. 2021; 28(7); 564-572 . IF = 15.369 [ASEP] [ doi ]
Míková; H. - Kuchtiak; Viktor - Svobodová; Irena - Spišská; V. - Pačesová; D. - Balík; Aleš - Bendová; Z. Circadian Regulation of GluA2 mRNA Processing in the Rat Suprachiasmatic Nucleus and Other Brain Structures . Molecular Neurobiology. 2021; 58(1); 439-449 . IF = 5.590 [ASEP] [ doi ]
Konečný; J. - Misiachna; Anna - Hrabinová; M. - Pulkrábková; L. - Benková; M. - Prchal; L. - Kučera; T. - Kobrlová; T. - Finger; V. - Kolcheva; Marharyta - Kortus; Štěpán - Jun; D. - Valko; M. - Horák; Martin - Soukup; O. - Korábečný; J. Pursuing the Complexity of Alzheimer's Disease: Discovery of Fluoren-9-Amines as Selective Butyrylcholinesterase Inhibitors and N-Methyl-d-Aspartate Receptor Antagonists . Biomolecules. 2021; 11(1)); 3 . IF = 4.879 [ASEP] [ doi ]

Article photogallery

The entire photogallery


Head of the Laboratory

prof. MUDr. Ladislav Vyklický, DrSc.

Deputy Head of the Laboratory
RNDr. Viktorie Vlachová, DrSc.
Senior Researcher
RNDr. Aleš Balík, Ph.D.
Ing. Ivan Dittert, Ph.D.
Mgr. Martin Horák, Ph.D.
Mgr. Miloslav Kořínek, Ph.D.
RNDr. Jan Krůšek, Ph.D.
Prof. RNDr. František Vyskočil, DrSc.
Associated scientist
Jiří Černý
Postdoctoral Fellow
Mgr. Martina Kaniaková, Ph.D.
RNDr. Lenka Vyklická, Ph.D.
Tereza Smejkalová, Ph.D.
RNDr. Vojtěch Vyklický, Ph.D.
Mgr. Lucie Zímová, Ph.D.
Miriam Candelas Serra, Ph.D.
PhD Student
Mgr. Barbora Krausová
Mgr. Marek Ladislav
Vera Abramová
Marharyta Kolcheva
Štěpán Kortus
Viktor Kuchtiak
Bohdan Kysilov
Viktor Sinica
Eni Tomović
Research Assistant
Petra Baráčková
Michal Malý
Anna Misiachna
Lenka Strnadová
Miloslava Kuldová
Leona Loudová
Romana Marková
Michal Mitro